The Intellectual Dishonesty of Steve

I’ve been having a back-and-forth with a biblical theist named Steve on Disqus. Steve visited Friendly Atheist to comment on the post “What does the Bible say about Abortion” and dropped this turd:

“Discussing Biblical topics on an atheistic site is like asking a man, blind from birth, to describe what colors are around him”

I pointed out this in response (this is from the tail-end of our exchange):

(Then) it applies equally to all values of X =/= Y since “Discussing X topics on an Y site, where those discussing it are Y not X, is like asking a man, blind from birth, to describe what colors are around him” or equally “Discussing Y topics on an Y site, where those discussing it are X not Y, is like asking a man, blind from birth, to describe what colors are around him”
And then I turned it back around on you since we can sub in any other religion or philosophy to get “Discussing atheist topics on an atheist site, where Steve Maxedon isn’t an atheist, is like asking a man, blind from birth, to describe what colors are around him”
Yet you will not admit that your own words apply to yourself.
Since you continue to not respond to your own words thrown back in your face, you are being intellectually dishonest.

and

If you truly believe that atheists cannot talk about the bible/Xians/Xianity, then to be consistent, you have to apply the inverse and you can’t talk about atheism.
Will you be consistent and apply your own words to yourself? Or will you continue to be intellectually dishonest?

No admission from Steve as of this writing, although he did take the time to write back to say he was reading my blog (Hi, Steve! Willing to admit you are being intellectually dishonest yet?) and then sent a second comment, again without admission (I’ll post my response to him separately).

Now, folks like Steve are interesting. He’s the sort that doesn’t understand what “intellectually dishonest” means, despite repeated explanations. I encounter theists like Steve on atheist blogs all the time.

You see, dear readers, if I made a claim like “Members of group X commenting on the beliefs of group Y is dumb” and I was a member of group Y, then, to be fair, I’d also have to apply those same standards to myself, specifically that “Members of group Y commenting on the beliefs of group X is dumb.”

Now, do you see what I did there? I applied the same standards to both group X and group Y, not to just one.

(Of course, I would never make such a claim because then I’d have to admit that by commenting on the other group, I’m violating my own claim. Oops! Additionally, I wouldn’t do it because ideas like religion aren’t immune to critical investigation or comment, as much as the religious would like them to be.)

So by applying those same standards, I’m being intellectually honest.

Now if I didn’t apply those standards equally over group X and group Y, then, well, that’s intellectually dishonest. And boys and girls, that’s exactly what Steve did.

Except Steve can’t admit that. Perhaps he thinks he’s perfect or maybe he’s a guy that can’t admit error because he wants to save face or maybe he thinks that no matter what he does, it’s ok because it’s in service to his religion. There could be even more reasons.
Whatever the reason, it really doesn’t matter. It’s not like his bible ever says anything about honesty or bearing false witness, right? And if he responded with insults and obfuscation, well, it’s not like his bible ever said anything about doing unto others, right? Besides his religious beliefs would salve any “sin” he commits because it’s not like he’s actually going to seek forgiveness from me, right?

So the lesson to learn, folks, is that when faced with an opportunity to apply a fair standard to things, don’t be like Steve. Show some integrity and swallow your pride and do the right thing. It might be hard but it’s worth it.
Wojtek_the_bear_037

